Need some advice/info on getting set up

P

pabl0

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm a dentist who's lurked here for a while... Mostly to see the crap you guys have to deal with and to learn a little more about how you do what you do. I have a history of cad/cam work and design, and got into 3D printing before it was commercially available for at home hobbyists. Built a couple 3D printers and even a desktop cnc for my woodworking stuff. Always liked getting to design and make stuff from scratch on my own with these skills.

With that in mind, I am about to purchase a dental practice and would like to get set up with the ability to produce/mill zirconia crowns in house. I am already going to be set up for scanning and milling emax in office, as well as printing models and making nighguards and clear aligners, but I'm lost when it comes to equipment needed for zirconia milling. The handfull of dentists that I've talked to who have things setup in house say they've spent 80k+ making additions to their homes and buying all the equipment needed to do this. I for sure don't want to take that deep of a dive into my pockets just yet. My office has some extra space with proper hookups for electric and air/water that I can utilize, and I'd like to see what could be possible on a budget.

My questions are the following:
1. If I was interested in buying used equipment to start.. what machine/ brands would you guys recommend for milling machine and furnace?
2. What software is generally preferred for designing? 3Shape or Exocad are the ones I've read about, any others?

For the time being in my current city, I am planning on going to the best lab that I know of in the town to learn as much as I can on my days off. Wanted to post here too and see what ya'll have to say. Thank you for your time in advance.

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
80k is about par for the course sir.

used mills 20-40k

used scanner and design sw 8-20k