Does everyone trim back their zirconia margins manually?

V

VAdoc

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm a doctor in a big group practice with an internal lab, and I'm the liaison between the doctors and the lab. I was hoping you could help me out with this. Our lab mills zirconia crowns, the after they're sintered, they trim back the margins manually. Whenever there's a margin issue, my doctors say that the error is caused by the manual trimming, and that other labs don't do that. Our lab says that of course everyone does that - that's the only way it can be done. So who's right? Does everyone trim back their margins manually, and does that tend to be a big source of margin error?

JMN

JMN

Christian Member
Reaction score
We've all been manually doing margins for over a century. FCG, PFM, Emax, Zirc, and anything else. The marginal thickness will always need to be reduced or you'll feel it with your finger, forget fingernail or explorer.

Ever make your own gold crown? When it came back from casting you still have to adjust/remove overextentions at a minimum? Same thing.

Machines are perfect at trying to do exactly what they are told to do, but that doesn't have anything close to the same meaning as the mill can perfectly output your perfect design.

Last edited:
JMN

JMN

Christian Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm a doctor in a big group practice with an internal lab, and I'm the liaison between the doctors and the lab. I was hoping you could help me out with this. Our lab mills zirconia crowns, the after they're sintered, they trim back the margins manually. Whenever there's a margin issue, my doctors say that the error is caused by the manual trimming, and that other labs don't do that. Our lab says that of course everyone does that - that's the only way it can be done. So who's right? Does everyone trim back their margins manually, and does that tend to be a big source of margin error?
OH! And Greetings Earthling! Welcome!

JMN

JMN

Christian Member