Question from a wanna-be lab tech

T

tandob

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

New to the network, love what you guys have got here. I'm a dentist from Canada that has a solo practice in a small town of 1500 and I love dentistry. I have decided that I want to start making my own fixed lab work for a variety of reasons; lower cost to patient, increase speed of delivery, quality control, and I also just love the craftsmanship aspect of it.

I am looking for ideas and opinions on what would be the most practical and economical way to do everything in-house. I'm not looking to go super high tech.

My idea so far is to get a porcelain furnace and feldspathic porcelain starter kit and just start layering and firing crowns and bridges.

Is all-porcelain crown and bridgework a viable option? If not, what is going to be the most practical way to make a metal or zirconium frame in my humble office? If it is a viable option to start out, does anyone have advice on which products to look at (brand and type of porcelain, furnace, and any auxillary tools and materials required).

Thanks everyone and looking forward to my dental lab tech journey and sharing cases with you guys,

Tanner

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
Practical? Economical? get a scanner, send all your work to Argen, let puro handle the rest.

T

tandob

Reaction score
Practical? Economical? get a scanner, send all your work to Argen, let puro handle the rest.

I guess I mean practical from a standpoint of doing it all myself with as little fancy equipment possible. I don't mind if it's labor intensive and time intensive.

zero_zero

zero_zero

Reaction score
If you really like the hands-on aspect of it, get a porcelain furnace and do you own custom staining/ contacts / small adjustments etc..... leave the rest to a good lab. Your time is way more valuable than the lab fee you'd save doing your own work... trust me

T

tandob

Reaction score