Three attempts - three broken burs...

Contraluz

Contraluz

Donator
Reaction score
So, after I got that Amman Gierbach Zolid FX ML disc, I tried to mill a three unit, screw retained bridge. After three attempts and three broken burs, I gave up and outsourced it... In the same attempts, screw retained individual units were milled well!

I have a Wieland Mini and the burs broke when it tried to mill parts of the screw access hole. The third attempt was under Wieland's guidance. Still, no success. We have milled screws retained bridges successfully before with the Zircad Multi MT discs form Ivoclar. I looked for a different material because of the missing bleach shades in the Multi discs (except BL1 and, I don't want to color). BTW, I really like the results of those Zircad Multi MT discs!

I am fairly new to milling. So I think it is more a user induced error than anything else... However, my questions are:

Is the material different, do I need different burs? Can I use different burs? Has anybody milled Zolid FX ML on a Mini? Any tips or tricks?

Thanks in advance!

M

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
zirconia is one of those really funny materials. its soft, sure, but every puck manufacturer is slightly different.

for example in my experience with Sagemax the HS type is highly intolerant to vibration, and the machine RPM cannot exceed 25 000 or there will be chips. by contrast the HT is much more forgiving and can cut quicker, even on machines that wobble or get hit.

while i dont have experience with Zolid, i'll be willing to bet its the same situation. turning down your spindle speed might help. unfortunately all i can recommend is trial and error.

Sevan P

Sevan P

Reaction score
So youh are tryi g to mill a screw retained bridge on a 4axis mill? Curious as to how you positioned it in the cam. It can be done onlly if setup a certain way. Pics of how you set it up in the cam and did you run simulation to check for collision?