• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    Roland DWX-52DC

    Discussion in 'Roland' started by Dali k, Sep 27, 2017.

    1. Dali k
      Fine

      Dali k Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2014
      Messages:
      36
      Likes Received:
      3
      Location:
      Montreal
      Hi, would the Roland DWX-52DC fit on a 60cm countertop? If not what size would it fit on please?

      Envoyé de mon SM-G935T en utilisant Tapatalk
       
    2. Matt Drury
      Thinking

      Matt Drury Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2016
      Messages:
      186
      Likes Received:
      89
      Location:
      Louisville, KY
      The external dimensions of the Roland 52DC are: 34.6 x 26.0 x 23.6 in. (880 x 660 x 600 mm) or (88 x 66 x 60 cm)
       
    3. Dali k
      Fine

      Dali k Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2014
      Messages:
      36
      Likes Received:
      3
      Location:
      Montreal
      Hi Matt, thank you for your replay, I have seen those dimensions on the Roland web site, the depth seems to be 66cm which is 6cm bigger then my counter... what I want to know is if the little legs that it sets on would still fit in 60cm... these legs are a little bit on the inside of the machine... so maybe it can fit in a smaller space!!

      Envoyé de mon SM-G935T en utilisant Tapatalk
       
    4. Matt Drury
      Thinking

      Matt Drury Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2016
      Messages:
      186
      Likes Received:
      89
      Location:
      Louisville, KY
      I see what you are saying... The legs, depth wise, are ~50 cm apart so it should set on a 60 cm platform
       
      • Like Like x 1
    5. eyeloveteeth
      Innocent

      eyeloveteeth Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      2,129
      Likes Received:
      278
      I wish they would address the broken bur issue....what's the point of having a mill with multi burs if the whole Queue stops when a bur breaks? Seems like a waste - and we were one of the first to get the mill....
       
      • Like Like x 2
    6. Getoothachopper
      Amused

      Getoothachopper Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2015
      Messages:
      599
      Likes Received:
      388
      Location:
      Palm Desert
      Wow ,I had no idea , that's good to know :eek:
       
    7. eyeloveteeth
      Innocent

      eyeloveteeth Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      2,129
      Likes Received:
      278

      keep in mind the mill is spectacular, but this little hick up kind of defeats the disc changer's abilities is all.
       
      • Informative Informative x 1
    8. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      6,173
      Likes Received:
      1,281
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      They should at least give you the option of 'all stop - human wants to check machine' or 'Go go gadget mill - I'll deal with it later'

      Burr breaks are not supposed to be common, and the code team may not have been instructed, or asked, how to handle it.
       
    9. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,289
      Likes Received:
      196
      Location:
      Germany
      Simple If than re loop with new burr operation ( spare cutter) and give additional error mail maybe couldn't be that complicated to programm stone time was long ago. Maybe they should ask Yenadent 30 minute burr check time with error mail versus call integrated.
      or James Babbi make his calls with a bone dont think so.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    10. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      6,173
      Likes Received:
      1,281
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Oh, yeah, dead simple. But you have to think of needing to do it first.
       
    11. eyeloveteeth
      Innocent

      eyeloveteeth Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      2,129
      Likes Received:
      278
      Caftan have you spoken to James Babbi ever? I don’t think you understand what they handle... and don’t take this as an attack.

      I love roland, if we didn’t we wouldn’t have 8 of their mills.

      The issue is a logistics and coding issue that CIM systems would need to look at.


      It’s very easy to stand on the soapbox and point fingers.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    12. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,289
      Likes Received:
      196
      Location:
      Germany
      @eyeloveteeth But could your Rolands give you a call ??!! CIM whoever makes the cam their are a lot out not sure one cam can with the 52 ??!! And i cant programm but the operation itself is simple and stupid.

      Never talked with him i have no Roland but i like things which are meant to end how long is the mill out how long in construction ??? If i build something to run overnight or weekend thats the first point on the to do list sorry!!
       
      Last edited: Oct 28, 2017
    13. eyeloveteeth
      Innocent

      eyeloveteeth Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      2,129
      Likes Received:
      278

      I have to apologize, i was at the IDT conference this past weekend and replied hastily. We (@cadfan) have obviously been on the same page regarding many things before. So i hope you know i wasn't being toxic - hopefully it wasn't taken that way in the first place.


      Yes, i agree with you, there should be some system set up, The problem is how it gets deployed. The specific issue i am looking at is if everything else checks out (spindle check, motors and axis checks) - and the only "bad" check is the tool length aka a broken tool - there should be a coding option to list a secondary sister tool or back up.

      However at the moment, CIM and Roland are worried that what if it's a bur stuck in the puck, or some other issue and it picks up a sister tool and then just wrecks the rest of the puck + any other pucks afterwards.

      It's a valid argument although a bit farfetched given the checks that go through in the system already.

      FYI CIM is Sum3D - so we are using Sum3D with our mills. You can use other programs, but we've been using Sum3D for a long time now on the Rolands.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    14. cadfan
      Amused

      cadfan Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2013
      Messages:
      1,289
      Likes Received:
      196
      Location:
      Germany
      Just found it but thats part of the cnc controller versus interpreter.here logosol

      Schirmfoto_2017-10-30_052854.jpg
       
    15. eyeloveteeth
      Innocent

      eyeloveteeth Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Messages:
      2,129
      Likes Received:
      278
      that's good to see! i think something should definitely be able to be made.
       
    16. James Babbi

      James Babbi Member Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2016
      Messages:
      33
      Likes Received:
      5
      Location:
      Jupiter, Fl


      Roland is always interested in hearing about any issues users might be having. We would encourage anyone who might encounter this issue to contact Roland support immediately. Gathering factual data from users where this happened will help our engineering team make any necessary firmware adjustments and work with Roland CAM partners to come up with the most logical adjustments. Thank you for the feedback.
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
    17. tehnik
      Inspired

      tehnik Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2014
      Messages:
      105
      Likes Received:
      9
      What is the life time of the collet and how to know if it is time to change it?
       

    Share This Page