• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    scanner in a dentist office

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by sampson, Oct 27, 2016.

    1. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      5,265
      Likes Received:
      760
      Tex, do you perchance mean csV instead of csZ?
       
    2. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Hi Labtek! I wanted "real" color to differentiate between hard/soft tissues. Where deep margins are concern, they say it makes a difference. Can't remember exactly what the "mono" Trios was......I believe in the low $20,000. Yeah, the whole concept of subscription fees and mandatory updates puts a bad taste in my mouth. Good revenue stream for them, but updates sometimes break things that are running smoothly. I wanted the ability to choose my updates.

      Personally, I believe digital impressions will take over in a few years. It is on the expensive side! And as you mentioned above, as soon as you drop down $$$, 12-18 months later, there's something a lot nicer (just like a computer). And then some dentists don't want the responsibility for the case. It's always easier to blame it on the lab tech......yes.....I believe a good % of dentists do that! Personally, I like to take responsibility of the case.....from shade selection to margin fit! Lab Technicians do some amazing restorations from crappy impressions/bites/etc., etc.
       
    3. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      5,265
      Likes Received:
      760
    4. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Hey Partner! Nope......Carestream's proprietary file format is .csz. Now you can change that when the .stl converter license feature is set up right. BOY.....STL is very important!
       
    5. rkm rdt
      Artistic

      rkm rdt Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2007
      Messages:
      11,915
      Likes Received:
      2,175
      I supply the scanner .No fees,no problem.
       
    6. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
    7. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Perfect! You should have them lining up!
       
    8. stephen hughes

      stephen hughes New Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2015
      Messages:
      2
      Likes Received:
      1
      Jake, the CSZ is the CareStream 'Raw Scan'. You need to finish going through the ACQ software (refinement and all the other checks) for it to pop out a DICOM file. That 'DCM' file is what you will run through the Mesh Converter app to get you STL and PLY files.

      On a related note the DCM file that the software created is a proprietary CareStream DCM file, it is not compatible with 3shape.
       
      • Informative Informative x 2
    9. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Stephen.....I do believe you are correct......here's my problem with the license.....maybe tomorrow now!!
       

      Attached Files:

    10. stephen hughes

      stephen hughes New Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2015
      Messages:
      2
      Likes Received:
      1
      Admittedly I am a bit more familiar with the 3500. I do not recognize this conversion Management window.

      In the Dental Imaging software, you should be able to open up the patient history and click 'Send To". Then have a STL pop out. (I cant attach photos yet) http://imgur.com/a/Iz3xC
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Informative Informative x 1
    11. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Stephen.....you are right again! It's a screenshot of the .stl license error within CSModel. I can't make it come up within the Imaging software. It's actually a "drop-down" menu to make the .stl conversion.
      8:00 a.m. in the morning fellers. They promise to have a tech ready to finish/repair install. I'll have sample .stl files for your viewing pleasure. I'm anxious to see what you think about the scans.
       
    12. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Here ya go fellers.....I'll try and help answer questions, send files, whatever!
       
    13. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      One more time....

      Sorry....over the size limit.....let me see if I can zip them
       
    14. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      5,265
      Likes Received:
      760
      use dropbox or something
       
    15. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      yeah.....don't have dropbox.....seems like I can share files in my iCloud account.....I'll be back!
       
    16. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
    17. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      5,265
      Likes Received:
      760
      looks like some kind of practice case.

      and a jaw from out of nowhere.
       
    18. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      Yeah Luke! Model with preps that came with the scanner.
       
    19. Jake Dobbins
      Happy

      Jake Dobbins Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2016
      Messages:
      70
      Likes Received:
      10
      I've got a crown in the morning, but i still don't have an "open" miller. Have to use the Cerec setup. I'll make time to scan with CS3600 also. Should have an actual case tomorrow evening for you.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    20. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      5,265
      Likes Received:
      760
      even if u dont make a crown scan the pt. get some practice. get good.
       

    Share This Page