1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Roland DWX50 Price?

Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by Parkway1, Mar 27, 2012.

  1. macminn

    macminn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you set that up in Sum3d?
     
  2. shane williams
    Amused

    shane williams Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    50
    How do you set that up? And whats the factor that determines when the software tells you to change the burs? Is it a number you figured out or something you just know? Very interesting since I'm also using sum3d.
     
  3. Labwa

    Labwa Member Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    18
    Where are Roland's made or assembled?
     
  4. Glenn Kennedy
    Breezy

    Glenn Kennedy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    106
    Roland DG (DG= Digital Group) builds the DWX in our state of the art factory in Hamamatsu Japan. The factory uses a method called "digital Yatai" and each machine is hand assembled by a single technician. You can see a video that details our award winning process on YouTube: Rolands Digital Factory in Yatai - YouTube

    Roland has regional offices around the world. Roland DGA (Digital Group America) provides service and support for North America and Latin America from our Irvine CA facility.
    A History of Innovation Worldwide - Roland DGA
     
  5. NicelyMKV
    Spaced

    NicelyMKV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    138
    So Glenn, no chance of me getting my hands on the computer guided schematics to build or disassemble the DWX50........ Is there??? :)))

    And yes Scott, I could take it apart;)


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  6. CatamountRob
    Amused

    CatamountRob Banned Member Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    208
    Yeah, but could you put it back together.....
     
  7. NicelyMKV
    Spaced

    NicelyMKV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    138
    Notice I left that part out lol
     
  8. Al.

    Al. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    207
    Glenn where are you located? The Irvine Ca facility?
     
  9. Glenn Kennedy
    Breezy

    Glenn Kennedy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    106
    Yes Al, I work for the Roland DGA office which is based in Irvine, CA.
     
  10. Glenn Kennedy
    Breezy

    Glenn Kennedy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    106
    LOL, no they won't let any of those files out of the company. All of the machines are designed and engineered in SolidWorks CAD. This lets them test virtual prototypes for optimum strength, material use, ease of assembly etc. before they make the first physical prototype. Once the design is finalized the 3D CAD files are used to generate the assembly instructions for the factory floor. It is really cool to see the whole process from start to finish.
     
  11. chromecobalt

    chromecobalt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to get these machines to attach sprue to the copings? Dont the STL files need some sort of data pack? Im confused
     
  12. Glenn Kennedy
    Breezy

    Glenn Kennedy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    106
    Sprues are added in the CAM software.

    The basic workflow is: dental model> 3D scan>Design in CAD software> Export .STL> Populate puck, sprue, generate toolpaths in CAM software>output to milling machine

    You can learn more about dental CAD/CAM in our free PDF download: Dental Tech Brief
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  13. AlterEgo

    AlterEgo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question

    Hello Shane, my name is Dennis, and I recently bought a brand new DWX-50, but I don't have any CAM software for it. I heard that both sum3d and dentMill (by Delcam) are good, but they are a little pricey for me at the moment. Can you please give me a hint on where did you get yours for 6000$? my email is leito333@yahoo.com Thanks!
     
  14. DMC
    No Mood

    DMC wheeeeeeeee!!! Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    274
    You are in the US?

    Either CAP, in MA or myself could sell you the CAM.

    $6000 is a bargin for 5-axis Dental CAM. It's not going to get any cheaper this decade.

    I don't think I could even match that price. We'd have to charge you a bit more for an open version of sum3d 5-axis, plus training.
     
  15. AlterEgo

    AlterEgo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Joe,

    Yep, I am in New York area (Brooklyn if to be precise). Can you give a call at 347-210-5953 so we can discuss it in more detailed manner? Thanks
     
  16. shane williams
    Amused

    shane williams Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    50
    Yeah it was a package deal when we bought the mill through Sagemax. It was over a year ago, but if I'm wrong I apoligize. I believe that it cost us $6000. Sagemax is a sponser on this sight, you can give them your info and they can help you. The people there are really great.
     
  17. DMC
    No Mood

    DMC wheeeeeeeee!!! Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,459
    Likes Received:
    274
    Who is Joe? Me?

    I am Scott, but you can call me Joe if you want?
     
  18. AlterEgo

    AlterEgo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Shane!
     
  19. AlterEgo

    AlterEgo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bad Scott. My eyes are playing tricks on me :D
     
  20. harmonylab

    harmonylab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    how many minutes is that per burr?
     

Share This Page