Opinions on Cercon System

TMNT120

TMNT120

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first post, been a long time reader and found many things on here to be helpful.

Did some searching through the forums but couldn't find much info on Cercon.

I'm looking to purchase a used system to start a small milling center from home as a side project. I've been using the Wieland system for the past 5 years at the lab I'm working at (3shape D250 scanner, Zeno 4030 M1 CNC machine). I find the entire Wieland system to be very dependable and efficient.

I was wondering if any owners of a Cercon system (in-house, not outsourcing) could give me some insight into the features of the cercon. If anybody owns both a 3shape and cercon system it would be really great if you could provide me with a list of pros vs cons of both.

Thanks in advance for any info!

Mark Jackson

Mark Jackson

Reaction score
We have both. We don't use our Cercom machine too much any more, because we mostly do work to order by brand name, so unless they ask for Cercon by name, we don't run it through. Our generic zirconia is Prismatik, so we aren't using any of the generic blocks in it, though I know a lot of people who do.

The Cercon Art software is old and simple, but works for simple jobs and you can nest.

I was told we could buy a dongle to run 3Shape files through the mill which we would do if we had demend for Cercon, so we haven't tried it yet. We were thinking about making it a dedicated little mill for milling single dies for a special project we have cooking, but haven't gotten that far yet.

If you just want to offer some inexpensive generic zirconia, and want a simple, cheap way to do it, the Cercon should give you what you're looking for. Like with anything in life, keep your toys clean, take care of them and follow instructions and it should be a dependable device.

Hope that helps.

TMNT120

TMNT120

Reaction score
Thanks Mark for the very informative reply! Greatly appreciated.