need dry air for mill

E

Ethan Thompson

Reaction score
Hey, folks. I am pretty new to the industry, as well as this forum. My lab has only been milling for about 3/4 months. I operate a Weiland mini 4-axis with the advanced C.A.M. and mill software. I'm having problems keeping the air bone dry. We have had a few issues with the mill from the get go, first and foremost being it like to start beating the hell out of the measuring plate for no obvious reason. After going through almost half a dozen measuring plates since we started I am beginning to think it may not be a conductivity problem. The globe on the maintenance regulator(the black and blue piece that goes on the side of the mill) is almost always foggy, not so much that you can't see through it, but definitely wet. I have a coalescing filter just before it, but it doesn't seem to be getting all the moisture. Any recommendations as to air dryers, ideas on why the mill is chewing up measuring plates, or any other info is greatly appreciated. I'll continue poking around other threads to see if I can find solutions, thanks

Affinity

Affinity

Donator
Reaction score
Look for used dental compressors in your area. I found a jun air on craigslist, it works great, and has a condensor on it.

deadhead

deadhead

Reaction score
try and find an air compressor with a built in condenser, or get a decent regulator to put on you air line that goes to mill to help catch some of the water. we used to have this issue with our small pancake compressor but now have an industrial size compressor with built in condenser. have been using for over a year now and are running 5 mills off this compressor and no water. dont know the exact brand. I know its not cheap but we have 5 mills to protect so it was worth the investment. Somethings are just worth it to spend the extra buck

user name

user name

Reaction score