Milling Teeth

LuthorCorp

LuthorCorp

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am looking at perhaps trying to transition physical dentures into digital but the biggest hangup I have is the milling of teeth.

Compared to card teeth how close can I get them in terms of quality wise and durability? I am new to the shaded pucks and want to know everyone's opinion.

Thanks in advanced,

deadhead

deadhead

Reaction score
milling denture teeth can be very accurate. It all depends on material,mill, and your scans of the teeth. U can either scan the denture teeth into your system which will be time consuming since u have to make sure your scans are good, so your digital file of the teeth will be accurate. u can also find a company with a tooth library already that u can load into your software and use them. Its all up to u and what you are trying to do with the teeth(looking to just mill for dentures or looking to make a custom library in your software for future designing). We use a few different libraries from a few companies since one library usually isn't sufficient since every mouth is different. As far as durability goes, that depends on what material you are milling out of. ZR would be stronger than card denture teeth, so if milling your denture teeth in ZR you will be happy with results. The staining of the teeth unless u use pre-shaded pucks can take a minute to get used to since everyone seems to have "the best" technique so you will have to find a process that works best for you and your lab. Hope this helped and good luck

LuthorCorp

LuthorCorp

Reaction score