• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    For Sale Long list of for sale items...

    Discussion in 'Classifieds' started by sidesh0wb0b, Jul 3, 2017.

    1. CatamountRob
      Dead

      CatamountRob Banned Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2009
      Messages:
      4,786
      Likes Received:
      1,189
      Location:
      Verde Mont
      Looks like a single phase load center as well?
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    2. sndmn2

      sndmn2 Active Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2010
      Messages:
      420
      Likes Received:
      69
      I'm certainly no electrical authority but isn't 3 phase wire a different color code ?
       
    3. sidesh0wb0b
      Sleepy

      sidesh0wb0b Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2012
      Messages:
      3,076
      Likes Received:
      443
      Location:
      Northeastern Tennessee
      it was converted to 3phase by the lab that used it. im certain it can be converted back.
       
    4. user name
      Question

      user name Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2010
      Messages:
      4,227
      Likes Received:
      1,030
      It is a single phase motor and single phase wiring. The only possibility would be to run it on two legs of a three phase circuit. As long as it starts it should run, but at a maximum of 67 percent of nameplate HP.
      I could be wrong, but I doubt it. @JMN?
       
    5. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      5,042
      Likes Received:
      1,006
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Please leave a message after the burp. This is a recording.
       
      • Funny Funny x 1
    6. sidesh0wb0b
      Sleepy

      sidesh0wb0b Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2012
      Messages:
      3,076
      Likes Received:
      443
      Location:
      Northeastern Tennessee
      im no electrician. everything ive said was based off of what was told to me. electricity taught me years ago not to mess with it unless i do some major homework. ive yet to have the time to do the homework, so i pay someone smarter than me lots of good money to take care of that sh*t for me.
      i dont want my electrician making my crown, and im not going to pretend to be an electrician.
       
    7. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      5,042
      Likes Received:
      1,006
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Motor says 208v also, which is a wye 3 phase system's output/input. A 3 phase motor will run on 2 phases, but only if it's started with all 3. And it will get very hot. Very very hot.

      There is every possibility that the guy who dropped it on SSB just told him the wrong, there is also the possibility that one of the insulated wires got pulled off at some time and that is why there are only 2 insulated wires showing like would be for 120 or 240.

      Nobody, and I mean basically none of us that is, has any business wiring one of those things in by themselves anyway. I've been told in some states to hard-wire a connection, an electrician is legally required. It's a great idea even if not, because the circuit will need to be isolated from anything else anyway and that requires a new run of 10-2 or whatever is needed to get to the location of the compressor, in addition to all the other stuff. The legal liability for anything that goes wonky with it is not something you want to wrangle with your insurance and/or landlord about.

      And @sidesh0wb0b, after I've had to stand back up after finding out that a circuit was still live "that one time" that I took someone else's word for it, you have the right idea.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
    8. sidesh0wb0b
      Sleepy

      sidesh0wb0b Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2012
      Messages:
      3,076
      Likes Received:
      443
      Location:
      Northeastern Tennessee
      its heppened to me twice, once as a kid and i couldnt let go of a very live wire. once as a young adult and i had pretty bad burns from an arced line that i didnt know was in the ceiling of the lab i first started at. since those two run-ins with power, i leave it to ppl who know what they are doing.
       
      • Like Like x 1
    9. user name
      Question

      user name Well-Known Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2010
      Messages:
      4,227
      Likes Received:
      1,030
      Where does the motor say 208v ?
      motor.jpg Looks to me like it says 230 volts, 1 phase.
       
    10. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      5,042
      Likes Received:
      1,006
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      3rd line from bottom, in the middle

      "usable at 208v"
      the only way I was taght you can get there is wye 3 phase

      Really don't know without it being inspected by someone with recent training/application of training whether the guy who told ssb it was 3phase was wrong. But if I had to bet, I'd bet the guy misinformed ssb.

      Single phase motors can be hooked into a place running 3phase, happens all the time, and is an easy misunderstanding to users not technically trained into that field of knowledge.

      Really, if someone is interested in it, and worried about it, they just need to call Baldor at 479.646.4711 and ask if Cat No. L1430t is single phase only, or if it's designed to be field modified for 3-phase use.
       
      Last edited: Jul 16, 2017
      • Like Like x 1
    11. sidesh0wb0b
      Sleepy

      sidesh0wb0b Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      May 2012
      Messages:
      3,076
      Likes Received:
      443
      Location:
      Northeastern Tennessee
      ok, so i am guessing the info i was given from the other lab owner was incorrect. it IS a single phase compressor and if no one wants it, one day it will make it to my garage/barn and have a happy and long life!
       
    12. JMN
      Curious

      JMN Christian Member Donator Full Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2012
      Messages:
      5,042
      Likes Received:
      1,006
      Location:
      In a surprisingly solid sea of electrons
      Think of all the bicycle tires you could fill. OOO OOO A pontoon boat with solar panels to run the compressor and use the air to power a prop. You'd have an Airship!
       
      • Funny Funny x 1

    Share This Page