Design crown under partial?

NicelyMKV

NicelyMKV

Reaction score
Is it possible to design a crown under a partial using exocad? I tried to come up with a way to fabricate an antagonist including the clasp using putty but for obvious reasons that will not work. I am new to this software and have a few Doctors inquiring about Bruxzir under partials.

Thank you,
Jason

Slipstream

Slipstream

Reaction score
Last one we did, I think we gave up with the software option and just waxed a crown and used that as a pre prep scan - which is what the dentist should have done - pre prep impression, post prep impression - and you just recreate the difference which would save having to take the chrome from the patient for the days the case is in the lab.

NicelyMKV

NicelyMKV

Reaction score
Ahhh... So just scan pre op and overlay the die model? Sounds much easier;) thanks!

CoolHandLuke

CoolHandLuke

Idiot
Solutions
Reaction score
while that method works, i have tinkered a bit with this kind of thing in the 3shape system and have a theory... what if we do a "pre-op" scan, and antagonist scan.

heres the trick: in the pre-op scan you can do alignment. so flip the partial over, and scan the appropriate area. in the antagonist scan place the partial on the cut die model. you will align the pre-op scan by flipping it over. in concept, it will align the upper pointcloud and lower pointcloud via similar buccal areas.

in effect you will have a clear "underside" of a clasp area, and wont need waxups.

anyone have a denture crown case to test this theory on ? i'm gonna hunt one down to try it if you guys dont.

and yes i know its not for the OP's system... but its on topic i hope.

k2 Ceramic Studio

k2 Ceramic Studio

Reaction score
while that method works, i have tinkered a bit with this kind of thing in the 3shape system and have a theory... what if we do a "pre-op" scan, and antagonist scan.