co cr milling with vhf k5 ???

• Thread starter dr.swapnil pande (MDS)
  • Start date
dr.swapnil pande (MDS)

dr.swapnil pande (MDS)

Reaction score
any one has experience about co cr milling with vhf k5 ??? and does metal milling hampers machine life ????

brayks

brayks

Sponsors
Reaction score
OK, fair warning, here comes one of my long-winded posts…

First let me mention that I am
  1. A distributor of a competitive product and
  2. I have no personal experience with this machine.
However I can provide some observations and opinions based on my approximately 40 years of CNC/CAD/CAM experience (which includes repair of CNC machines, machinist, technical support, sales, software development and executive management) and reviewing machine/ spindle spec sheets, images, videos etc.

At first glance the K5 appears to tick a lot of the boxes necessary to consider this a decent machine. I really can’t speak to the value as I am missing a few bits of key information, including drive system (is it an open-loop, step motor system or closed-loop servo drive system) and price.

The boxes “ticked” include:
  • · Ball screws (although unknown if there is preload)
  • · Aluminum casting (although it appears only the bed)
  • · Constant torque spindle
  • · Linear guides
  • · Harmonic drive rotary
I do however have major concerns with this machine relative to your post on machining CoCr.

First it is important to understand two very key concepts about machine tools and machining (there are more but let’s just concentrate on the two biggies). They are:

1. Heat and vibration are the absolute enemy and must be eliminated at every possible opportunity in machine construction, tooling and fixturing.
  2. The spindle is really the heart of the machine and in many cases the limiting factor in its effectiveness for a given application.