Can a lab work with an intraoral scanner instead of an extra oral

A

a.osman

Reaction score
Hello guys first post on this forum long time follower . I am a dentist who has been working as a lab tech for the last two years emax press . My clinic is not doing great however the lab is doing much better. I have a limited budget and extraoral scanners here are not cheap like 18000€ while intraoral is 28000€ but the intraoral ones cost 28k or 29k. what are your thoughts

Kratos

Kratos

Reaction score
Almost 3 months and no reply .. you're gonna get one :D

What do you need it for? you don't mention having a mill, what is its use for you? you want to scan and send to labs?

You say your work is not doing great, even if you think of scanning & directly sending the files to labs, I do not find this as a good investment.

Some intraoral scanners are open-type and produce .stl files that can be sent to all the labs as long as they are open format.

Last edited:
cnhart@me.com

[email protected]

Reaction score
Hello guys first post on this forum long time follower . I am a dentist who has been working as a lab tech for the last two years emax press . My clinic is not doing great however the lab is doing much better. I have a limited budget and extraoral scanners here are not cheap like 18000€ while intraoral is 28000€ but the intraoral ones cost 28k or 29k. what are your thoughts

I'm a Prosthodontist. We use a caresteam 3500 for our dies and an old maestro for our base models and artics.

Intraoral are fast at scanning and are very very much better on plaster.

My maestro is 8 years old and I do bars on it with no issues.

A

a.osman

Reaction score