Any Lab Tips for a Noob Prosthodontist?

P

Paul Springs

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a long-time lurker, and I have to thank many people on this forum for several smart tips over the years. This is my first post.

I've been a general dentist for 3 years, and though I've always loved lab work, I've gotten more and more busy in the clinic, making me more lazy about increasingly leaning on some great lab techs over the years. For the last 20 months I've been in an office with an in-house lab and a PlanScan CAD/CAM system, which have been a nice scratch for my lab itch.

That said, in June I'll be starting a Prosth residency, which means I'll have to re-find my lab flow from school. I'll be doing most of my removable lab work (I believe only processing and maxillofacial work are optional),as well as all steps for analog C&B and implants up until the coping wax-up stage. Ceramic stacking and pressing are usually done by a very gifted in-house tech, but can optionally be done by residents for the sake of turnaround time.

To be honest, I'm rusty, and I don't want to be in the lab from 6AM to 9PM, but I also want to take this as an opportunity to push myself to learn more lab work and get better at it.

So are there any tips you would offer to someone unused to doing much lab work that wants to have maximum efficiency and quality? I'm mainly thinking tips you wish you had known when you started, but anything you guys feel is of value is appreciated. Thanks in advance for your time.

TheLabGuy

TheLabGuy

Just a Member
Reaction score
A few comments for ya.....First, Congrats!!!