• Welcome to Dental Lab Network
    1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

    3Shape Model Builder: Ditching Unsectioned Model

    Discussion in 'Dental-CAD' started by kristian, Aug 11, 2017.

    1. kristian
      Goofy

      kristian Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Messages:
      133
      Likes Received:
      15
      Location:
      Prince Albert, SK, Canada
      Is there a way to ditch around a die to your existing margin in 3Shape Model Builder? I'd like to make a solid model but clear it around the margin.
       
    2. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      6,372
      Likes Received:
      1,028
      use the sculpt features or fix it in sculptris/zbrush
       
    3. kristian
      Goofy

      kristian Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Messages:
      133
      Likes Received:
      15
      Location:
      Prince Albert, SK, Canada
      Yeah that's what I've done, but I was wondering if there was a way to do it automatically, protecting the margin since it's already defined. Anything else seems like lots of work for something that technically could exist as just a setting.
       
    4. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      6,372
      Likes Received:
      1,028
      draw the die cut out line around the tissue 5-8mm. enter one giant ditched margin.

      ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
       
    5. KentPWalton
      Tired

      KentPWalton Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2012
      Messages:
      1,641
      Likes Received:
      229
      Location:
      Down South
      It should be a setting within the Digital Model Design (Fig 1):

      You may want to play with those settings and see what happens. You can also do that within the model design under File>Virtual Trim Settings (Fig 2)

      Die Ditch Setting.png Virtual Trim Setting.png
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Winner Winner x 1
      • Informative Informative x 1
    6. kristian
      Goofy

      kristian Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Messages:
      133
      Likes Received:
      15
      Location:
      Prince Albert, SK, Canada
      This is exactly what I was looking for. I remember trying it in the past and it not working as expected, but this seems to do the trick.

      Thank you!
       
      • Like Like x 1
    7. CoolHandLuke
      Fiendish

      CoolHandLuke Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2011
      Messages:
      6,372
      Likes Received:
      1,028
      i don't think any of that applies when you have a solid model with no dies.
       
    8. kristian
      Goofy

      kristian Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Messages:
      133
      Likes Received:
      15
      Location:
      Prince Albert, SK, Canada
      I do a solid model plus a separate die. It seems to work, I did a handful this afternoon.
       
    9. KentPWalton
      Tired

      KentPWalton Well-Known Member Full Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2012
      Messages:
      1,641
      Likes Received:
      229
      Location:
      Down South
      It seemed to me that they were just wanting a bigger ditch. Easy peasy.
       

    Share This Page