3M Lava Esthetic Fluorescent Full-Contour Zirconia

Greg Lutke

Greg Lutke

Reaction score
1238683P
1236188P

Even though I am a dentist, I attended the LMT Chicago meeting last week. I listened to the 3M rep discuss 3M™ Lava™ Esthetic Fluorescent Full-Contour Zirconia. He said it could be used for veneers – which caught me off guard.

This material seems like the best possible FCZ crown currently for esthetic – but I was wondering what I am missing. I don’t see much here on DLN about this material. It seems like the complete replacement for Emax in my practice. It seems to be twice as strong as Emax and have a shade gradient built in to the disks. Everything is pre-colored to help with adjustments at seating. Any discussion you guys may have here would be appreciated.

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score
Greg, milling veneers in any material seems to be a challenge compared to pressing.
It's probably another great zirconia for full crowns but I would stick ( pun intended) to a proven etchable material like lithium (di) silicate.

Greg Lutke

Greg Lutke

Reaction score
Yes Robert, I asked him that exact question. He said the bond to the FCZ was much stronger than the bond to the tooth (dentin & enamel). I personally would not use it for veneers, but would try and use it for full crowns that need esthetic results - like I have benn using pressed Emax. As you know, the cutback and layering on Emax has proven to be the weakest link. It's always a bummer when a beautiful case comes back in with Emax fracture. Just trying to move forward with a beautiful, yet stronger material.
Have you worked with 3M Lava Esthetic on a case?

rkm rdt

rkm rdt

Reaction score