new to denture carving

T

twaite

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie denturist. I'm getting my tooth setting and faster and better everyday now I need to improve my carving. Any pointers for carving a nice denture so it doesn't look so plain.

t

nvarras

nvarras

Reaction score
Don't carve. Wax it up how you want it to look. Or at least get it close and then touch it up with the carver. Your hands will thank you. Whip mix has a free webinar about waxing on their website that is good for beginners. You will find plenty of tips and tricks in that webinar.

TomZ

TomZ

Reaction score
Don't carve. Wax it up how you want it to look. Or at least get it close and then touch it up with the carver. Your hands will thank you. Whip mix has a free webinar about waxing on their website that is good for beginners. You will find plenty of tips and tricks in that webinar.

Thank you..

Denturist

Denturist

Reaction score
Are you a denturist or a lab tech?

Flipperlady

Flipperlady

Reaction score
There was a guy down here in Texas that was teaching denture waxing classes. He's probably still doing this but I haven't checked lately. The name is on the tip of my tongue, maybe someone could help me remember :) I wax them to where all I have to do is trim the borders and polish.

AJEL

AJEL

Reaction score
Nice Video, remember doing that brush in a production lab. I usually only put about as much wax on as I need and use an akers Akers Knife - Complete [43310] - $10.50 : Dental Lab Supplies and Equipment | Orthodontic Product Supply, The Art of E-commerce with a vinyl tube to thicken the handle or sometimes a plaster buffalo green #6 http://www.buffalodental.com/Catalog/Catalog.pdf if my hands R sore. i believe I took Mays class at the Chicago show a long time ago, I think he is a waxsheet & finger shape guy with akers trimming to shape.