Flipper vs Acrylic Partial

evanosu

evanosu

Reaction score
Ok I'm new in the dental lab business and I'm getting confused between a flipper & an acrylic partial. I figure 1-2 teeth is a flipper but if a doctor writes they are extracting 4 teeth and call that a flipper w/ no clasps, is it a flipper or is it really an acrylic partial? I want to know so I can educate my staff and ensure I'm billing correctly.

Help, thanks!

lcmlabforum

lcmlabforum

Reaction score
I try to discourage such terminology . . .
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flipper_(1964_TV_series)
although some patients understand it better because the DDS calls them
that. My understanding is an acrylic partial made as interim (read 'temporary'
or immediate replacement) would be referred to as a 'flipper' while an
acrylic partial can be designed or even used as long term prosthesis
in lieu of metal based RPD. You might want to call those 'treatment'
or interim/provisional prosthesis officially.
My verbose, 0.5 cents' worth.
LCM

Clear Precision Dental

Clear Precision Dental

Reaction score
Acrylic partials were developed as provisional restorations. Technically these are "Mucosal-borne provisional prostheses." They are also used when the remaining teeth are likely to be removed in the near future and the partial needs to be easily added on to so that the partial denture can become a full one.

"Acrylic partials" without clasps were often called "Stayplates." These are not technical, or prothodontic terms but rather convention or sloppy terms that stick in the verbage. I was always taught that "Flipper" was a porpoise and not a dental device, but docs and patients call them that out of common usage perhaps because they "flip around" in the mouth.

Older patients called complete dentures and removable partial dentures, "full plates" and "partial plates" respectively. Some patients refer to a removable partial denture as a "removable bridge."